Brown Bear, Brown Bear, What Do You See?

Bill Martin Jr.’s Brown Bear, Brown Bear, What Do You See? book is great for EFL learners – lots of repetitive language, easy vocabulary that they will encounter elsewhere (colours and animals), and beautiful Eric Carle drawings. Like other books, I’ve adapted mine by photocopying it, and enlarging the pictures and text for kids to see, even sat at the back of a huge Malaysian class… Usually I read the book aloud first, then I use flashcards to check vocabulary with the kids before reading again. Here are the flashcards I made (print, fold over, laminate!):

A5 flashcard for brown bear

A5 flashcard for purple cat

And the rest in PDF format:

A5 flashcards

Here’s a grouping activity – cut up the pictures (leaving the phonics beneath them) – the children can use either the word or the picture to find their group partners.

Phonics grouping activity

Some re-ordering activities:

Ordering activities

And finally a worksheet that focuses on phonics for EFL learners:

Worksheet with phonics focus

6 thoughts on “Brown Bear, Brown Bear, What Do You See?

  1. Pingback: Bingo Made Easy! | esl-cabinet

  2. Pingback: Brown Bear Brown Bear - lesson theme - STELLA123

  3. Hello. I’m Sachiko. I’m from Japan and I work as an English teacher in middle schools. I love “Brown Bear” book so much and I read books to children all the time. I really loved your homepage.
    I’m going to use your A5 flashcards in my lesson. They’re are great!
    Thank you very much.

Leave a Reply

