The Very Hungry Caterpillar Starts To Write

The Very Hungry Caterpillar is full of useful vocabulary for children – days of the week, food names, numbers… Children can use this vocabulary to create their own stories – for instance, “What I ate this week” (“On Monday, I ate fried rice. On Tuesday, I ate chicken.”), making it nice and personal to them. But to begin with, they can trace over the words, fill in gaps, or repeat phrases in mini books, allowing them to become more familiar with the vocabulary before they produce it themselves.

Mini book instructions here.

Update: You can download a PDF of all the mini books here – updated to have just three penmanship lines, instead of four as in the mini books below.

Update: You can download a PDF in 8.5″ x 11″ format here: Very Hungry Caterpillar mini books 8.5 x 11

Mini book: trace names of fruit and draw a picture:

Eric Carle - Very Hungry Caterpillar mini book

My Fruit Book: trace and draw

Mini book: look at the picture, write the correct name:

Mini book: Eric Carle - Very Hungry Caterpillar - My Fruit Book

My Fruit Book: look and write

Mini book: trace and draw the names of food:

Mini book: Eric Carle - Very Hungry Caterpillar - My Food Book

My Food Book: trace and draw

Mini book: students look at the picture and write the words:

Mini book: Eric Carle - Very Hungry Caterpillar - My Food Book

My Food Book: look and write

Mini books to practise days of the week:

Eric Carle - Days of the Week - simple

Mini book 1: trace the word

Eric Carle - Days of the Week - level 2

Mini book 2: trace the sentence and fill the gap

Eric Carle - Days of the Week - level 3

Mini book 3: blank penmanship guidelines for students to write sentences

6 thoughts on “The Very Hungry Caterpillar Starts To Write

  1. Hi Belinda! You should be able to do this through your printer preferences. When you press print, make sure that the paper size is set to 8.5×11, and set it to “Fit” – this should automatically resize the page so that it fits your paper. Alternatively, if you let me know which minibooks you want to use, I will try to get a PDF done for you.

  2. Hello there,
    Thank you. I have tried on a couple of computers and printers without success. I would love to use Minibook 3.

    Thank you for your help

Leave a Reply

